The Teach Where You Are website was created by members of the Task Force on Remote Learning as part of an overall effort to provide support for Colgate faculty as they work to transition their in-person teaching to a remote mode, either sometime this summer or once the fall 2020 semester begins. The strategies, tips, tools, and resources featured on this website were informed by conversations with, and surveys of, faculty, staff, and students. This website is a work in progress, and we welcome feedback and questions from the university community. Please contact the Task Force with your ideas and questions (remotelearningtaskforce@colgate.edu).

The Task Force on Remote Learning

Co-Chair: Niranjan Davray, Chief Information Officer
Co-Chair: James “Eddie” Watkins, Jr., Professor of Biology and Director of the Center for Learning, Teaching, and Research

Jennifer Brice, Associate Professor of English

Jesi Buell, Associate Professor & Instructional Design and Web Librarian

Jeanne Follansbee ’78, P’08, Colgate Board of Trustee (Co-Vice Chair) and Associate Dean of Yale College

Ryan Hall, Assistant Professor of History

Karen Harpp, Professor of Geology and Peace and Conflict Studies

Ana Jimenez, Assistant Professor of Biology

Doug Johnson, Professor of Psychological and Brain Sciences and Associate Dean of Faculty

Scott Kraly, Dana Professor of Psychology and Neuroscience

Jeff Nugent, Director of Learning and Applied Innovation and Associate Director of the Center for Learning, Teaching, and Research

Risako Yang ’21, Colgate Student and Benton Scholar

Lynn Schwarzer, Professor of Art & Art History and Film & Media Studies and Director of the Upstate Institute 

Ashley Taylor, Assistant Professor of Educational Studies

The Task Force wishes to thank Christine Moskell, Instructional Designer – Connected Learning. Without her efforts, this website would not exist. For help with the Classroom Technology Guide, thanks are also due to Ahmad Khazaee, ITS Director of Engagement and Support; Mark Hine, ITS Director, Classrooms, Media and Events; Alex Sklyar, Assistant Professor in University Studies; and Anna Labykina, Technical Director in Theater. The Task Force wishes to acknowledge the students who worked on that guide and/or the Student Ideas for Remote Learning document: Div Chamria, Hunter Dauparas, Edi Dukesherer, Erin Flannery, Jake Gómez, Eli Hearne, Leila Ismaio, Grace Klein, McKenzie Perkins, Kayla Schacher, Elizabeth Shaw, Matt Swire, Eliza Trainer, and Joyce Zhang.